22
Aug

Girls Who Code releases 13-book series with Penguin

New York, NY (August 22, 2017) —  Girls Who Code has teamed up with Penguin to release 13 books for girls about computer science and coding – the first of their kind. The first books come out today, August 22, 2017, and include a nonfiction book, Girls Who Code: Learn to Code and Change the World, and a fiction book, The Friendship Code, which we like to think of as “The Babysitters Club” meets coding. In addition to the novels, the Girls Who Code publishing program will include an activity book, a journal, and 4 board books.

Girls Who Code is releasing the series with Penguin as an invitation for girls everywhere to learn to code and change the world. The books include explanations of computer science concepts using real life examples; relatable characters and profiles of women in tech.

“We’re doing this because literary representation matters: one of the best ways to spark girls’ interest is to share stories of girls who look like them,” said Reshma Saujani, CEO & Founder of Girls Who Code. “It’s one of the first times that the story of computer science has been told through so many girls’ voices. We are all very familiar with the image of a male programmer in a hoodie, but in our books, we’re showing images of relatable girls coding, such as Lucy, who likes science and video games, or Sophia, who likes sports and selfies. Our hope is that these characters will inspire a generation of girls to learn to code.”

The nonfiction book is part how-to, part girl-empowerment, and all fun, serving as an invitation to the wonderful world of coding. Bursting with dynamic artwork, down-to-earth explanations of coding principles, and real-life stories of girls and women working at places like Pixar and NASA, this graphically animated book shows what a huge role computer science plays in our lives and how much fun it can be.

The Friendship Code, written by Stacia Deutsch, is the first in a series of four middle-grade novels that follow a group of five girls who’ve joined their school’s coding club. This chapter book is perfect for fans of The Babysitters Club and anyone interested in computer science. Each book in the series will be told from a different character’s perspective.

To celebrate the release of the books, Reshma Saujani will set off on a month-long book tour, stopping in major cities across the US. For dates, see the schedule below.

BOOK TOUR SCHEDULE:

  • August 22nd – FREE Event – Barnes & Noble UNION SQUARE @ 7 PM (New York) – RSVP
  • August 24th – Ticketed Event In Conversation with Bozoma St John- JCC SF @ 7PM (SF) – RSVP
  • August 25th – FREE Event – KEPLER’S @ 7 PM (Menlo Park) – RSVP
  • September 2 – National Book Festival Keynote (DC) – ATTEND
  • September 3 – Decatur Book Festival (Atlanta) –  ATTEND
  • September 11 – FREE Event – WOMEN & CHILDREN FIRST @ 7 PM (Chicago) –RSVP
  • September 18 – FREE Event – POLITICS & PROSE @ 7 PM (Washington, DC) – RSVP
  • September 21 – FREE Event – VROMAN’S @ 7 PM (Los Angeles) – RSVP