Learn About the Girls Who Code Books!

Girls Who Code has teamed up with Penguin to release 13 books for girls about computer science and coding. The first books come out August 22, 2017 and include a non-fiction book, Girls Who Code: Learn to Code and Change the World, and a fiction book, The Friendship Code, which we like to think of as “The Baby-Sitters Club” meets coding. You can also expect to see a coding-themed journal, activity book, board books, and more!

Girls Who Code: Learn to Code and Change the World

Part how-to, part girl-empowerment, and all fun, this non-fiction book created by Girls Who Code CEO & Founder, Reshma Saujani, is an invitation to the wonderful world of coding. Whether you’re a girl who’s never coded before, a girl who codes, or a parent raising one, this entertaining book, printed in bold two-color and featuring art on every page, will have you itching to create your own apps, games, and robots to make the world a better place.

The Friendship Code

This fiction book is perfect for fans of The Babysitters Club and anyone interested in computer science.

Lucy is super excited about coding club at school. She has an idea for an app, and can’t wait to get started! But her excitement turns to disappointment when she sees who else is at the first meeting: her ex-best friend Sophia; Maya, a cool seventh grader who Lucy’s never dared talk to; and Erin, a quiet new girl. Lucy doesn’t get to work on her app, and she’s paired with Sophia, Maya, and Erin for a group project. But when Lucy starts receiving cryptic notes that seem to be in coding language, the girls join forces to figure out the mystery. They discover that coding takes time, patience, and dedication—and so does friendship!