Girls Who Code adds 4 new Board members

Cheryl Saban, Kara Sprague, Tiffany Dufu, Paul Daugherty are longtime advocates for women & girls

Monday, December 12, 2016 (New York, NY) — Girls Who Code, the national nonprofit organization working to close the gender gap in technology, today announced four new additions to its Board of Directors: Cheryl Saban, Kara Sprague, Tiffany Dufu, and Paul Daugherty. The four new Board members bring deep experience advocating for women and girls to Girls Who Code’s Board, as well as expertise in foundations, fundraising, and consulting.

Cheryl Saban is an author, psychologist, philanthropist, and advocate for women and children. In 2009, she founded the Cheryl Saban Self Worth Foundation for Women & Girls, a non-profit organization for the advancement and empowerment of girls and women. Cheryl is also the President of the Saban Family Foundation, which supports children’s medical and education programs.

Kara Sprague is a Partner with Digital McKinsey, based in San Francisco. She leads McKinsey & Company’s Tech, Media, and Telecom Practice for the Western Region of North America. She works with enterprise and consumer technology and service providers and brings substantial experience in corporate strategy, business-building, go-to-market, and pricing.

Tiffany Dufu is the Chief Leadership Officer to Levo, a Launch Team member to Lean In and former President of The White House Project.  Having raised nearly $20 million toward the cause of women and girls, Tiffany was named as one of 10 “Women to Watch” by Mattel and 19 “Women Who Are Leading The Way” in the Huffington Post amongst luminaries such as Hillary Clinton and Diane Sawyer.

Paul Daugherty is the Chief Technology & Innovation Officer at Accenture and leads the company’s Technology Innovation & Ecosystem group. He is also a member of Accenture’s Global Management Committee. Paul is chairman of the board of Avanade, serves on the board of trustees of the Computer History Museum, and is actively engaged in promoting STEM-related inclusion & diversity initiatives.

The new Board members join Girls Who Code’s existing Board of Directors, which includes:

  • Alexis Maybank, Founder & CEO of Project September; Founder of Gilt Groupe
  • Marissa Shorenstein, New York State President at AT&T
  • Reshma Saujani, Founder & CEO at Girls Who Code
  • Evan Korth, Professor of Computer Science at NYU & Founder of HackNY
  • Jamie Miller, SVP, President, and CEO at GE Transportation
  • Adam Messinger, Chief Technology Officer at Twitter
  • Trina DasGupta, CEO at Single Palm Tree Productions